What’s Your Motivation?

Every day I wake up and thank God I have another day to get it right, another day to be a better person. Another day to stay positive and focused, and to keep putting one foot in front of the other. But let me be honest there are some days when I feel like my get up and go, got up and went….far far away! Sometimes I can hear the call from the pantry in the kitchen. It’s like a nasty nagging evil minion. Whispering in my ear to get up and eat the kids’ snacks! I have to dig deep to find the strength to tune that pesky nag out, and not head to the kitchen. I had a slight bit of a panic attack the other day when I thought about having to attend 2 cook outs with family and friends this Memorial Day weekend. All my favorite foods! And I’m on a 21 day detox, and trying to loose weight. How am I going to do this? I am a food addict being placed in a smorgasbord of delicious and wonderful tasting food! There is always way too much food, and most of it is quite honestly not healthy. So How do I keep motivated to eat my healthy detox eating while everyone else is chomping on burgers off the grill, potato salad, chips and home made blue cheese dip? UGH!!

How am I going to do it? Just pray and pack lots of fruits and veggies along with my detox meal and eat it with the knowledge that I am determined to be successful! I need to remind myself that I have lost 19 pounds in just about 3 weeks! I’m going to do it because I know that  weekend will make me stronger mentally!

I think about my friends who are supportive. It’s nice to get a phone call or a text that says “Just thinking about you. Keep up the hard work”. “You can do this” “Said a prayer for you to be successful”. Small things like that sure boost the confidence. When I really feel I am faltering I draw my motivation from my kiddos. My oldest son, Caleb, wants to loose weight, but hasn’t hit rock bottom yet like  I did, so he is not 100% committed. So I hope when he sees me working hard on getting healthy, and sees the results it will motivate him. My daughter, Hannah,  my baby, my mini me, is another motivation. I want her to grow to be a strong healthy eater. I see a few of my eating tendencies in her and I want her to learn now while she is young the importance of eating healthy. My Middle son, Zach, is a big motivation. He is my child who does not have it in him to give up. He has always been that way. He is built like a runner, but plays football like he is a huge 250 pound lineman! He doesn’t know the word quit. This year’s track season was his second year of running distance seriously. Every meet he dropped time off of each event he ran in. Tuesday this week he ran in the conference meet. He ran another personal best. He took third in the conference. The kid who took second, was only 2 seconds ahead of Zach. This kid has beaten  Zach all season by a 1/4  lap  in every event they were both in. Zach had never been able to catch up with him. Not this week! Zach had determination that he would yet again drop time off his run. He led this kid the whole race until the very end. It was great watching  the determination and mental strength it took Zach to catch this kid and lead him the whole race, even if he lost in the end.  His two mile didn’t go as well. heading into the 2nd mile his head dropped and I could tell that he was struggling. He still ran another personal best pushing hard the whole way. But at the end of the race, he blacked out. His sugar had dropped. Zach is hypoglycemic, and just didn’t have enough  in him (even with his necessary snacks). If this 16 year old child of mine can push so hard and never give up, striving to be the best that he can be, can’t I do the same?  He sets a goal, and achieves it. If he can do that, I can too!

This is Zach in his mile race Tuesday, ahead of a kid that has always beaten him. Don’t you just love the neon socks and shoes?

 

We all can find motivation anywhere we look whether it be from books, people, art, music, nature. Where do you get your motivation from?

One thought on “What’s Your Motivation?

  1. When I first became a vegetarian 3 years ago, I struggled with the exact same thoughts (and situation) you are having in regards to attending those BBQ’s. I had just changed my diet when I went home to visit my family and I struggled BIG time. I was surrounded by all my favorite foods and really began to question why I was doing this to myself. One thing that helped me was the support of my family. They made sure I had food around me that I could eat. They respected my decision and supported me 100%.

    Our minds (and taste-buds) have been programmed to want and crave certain things, but we can definitely reprogram them to want the healthy things instead. The beginning is always tough and you’ll question yourself a lot, but sticking it out like I know you will, it will payoff tenfold. Keep surrounding yourself with those that love and support you.

    Where do I find my motivation? Firstly, I look within myself. You can be your own personal motivator. When I begin to falter, I look at all that I have accomplished in the past. It shows me that I CAN do it. Secondly, my honey is a huge motivator for me. It helps having the love of your life be physically active alongside you. Doing it together really does help. Thirdly, I read a lot of books that pertain to whatever it is I am trying to accomplish. Finally, I have a list of healthy living and runner blogs that I read on a daily basis.

Leave a Reply

